The 19th Annual Y Teen Character Awards presented by Rhinelander Rotary took place on Friday, April 15th at the Hodag Dome. The evening was filled with inspiration and promise as we honored 32 exceptional young men and women from Oneida, Vilas, Forest, and Lincoln counties. The recipients of this award are living examples of strong moral character, leadership, and service. They are dedicated to strengthening their families, schools, and communities. We are proud of the 2021 honorees and look forward to seeing them shine as they move forward with their journeys. The night’s program with all the teen’s stories is available online at In addition, the Y Teen Character Scholarship made possible by the Steingraber Family was awarded to Quinn Lamers a senior from Rhinelander High School.
The YMCA of the Northwoods would not be able to make events like this possible without the support of the community. We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the organizations that supported this amazing event. Presenting Sponsor: Rhinelander Rotary. Major Sponsor: News Watch. Table Sponsors: Rhinelander Kiwanis Club, Pizza Ranch, Headwaters Christian Youth, Nicolet National Bank, Ripco Credit Union, Heck Capital Advisors, and Lake of the Torches. Half Table Sponsor: Packaging Corporation of America, Forth Floral, People’s State Bank, and Park City Credit Union. Additional thanks go out to Ellen Mathien, Jen Metzger, Hodag Dome, Laser Innovations, Geoff Weller and Justin Betti. Thank you for supporting the growth and well-being of our Northwoods Community.
2021 Honorees (Alphabetically by last name): Amaya Adler (Rhinelander), David Bock (Lakeland), Keaton Brewer Crownhart (Lakeland), Guinness Bruce (Northland), Abby Cornella (Phelps), Hunter Cronauer (Laona), Alison DeNamur (Rhinelander), Makenzie Denny (Rhinelander), Keirrah Epping (Northland Pines), Marissa Flannery (Crandon), Jordyn Franzen (Phelps), Adia George (Three Lakes), Natalie Hicks (Three Lakes), Emma Houg (Rhinelander), Evan Janet (Northland Pines), Hutson Kane (Crandon), David Kaufman (Three Lakes), Samantha Krueger (Northland Pines), Owen Kurtz (Rhinelander), Quinn Lamers (Rhinelander), Ceara McCarthy (Crandon), Hunter Meistad (Phelps), Benjamin Nemcek (Lakeland), Skylar Peitsch (Rhinelander), Emily Rottier-Douangmala (Northland Pines), Mari Szews (Three Lakes), Liana Teter (Rhinelander), Mary Voelker (Tomahawk), Grace Weber (Northland Pines), Ty Welk (Rhinelander), Kayla Whitehead (Northland Pines), and Lillian Williams (Crandon)